Lights on the edge of town - traditional Christmas market 16-17.11.2013 between 11 AM - 4 PM, Oulunsalo museum grounds
Handicrafts and homemade baked goods, Father Christmas with his helpers in the granary, Christmas atmosphere of yesteryear in the museum café. Programme for children and grown-ups, including a fire show and church concerts.
Unveiling of the light installation commemorating the 20th anniversary of art society Ultramarin ry on Saturday at 1 PM.
Oulunsalo traditional Christmas market only features handmade products: baked goods, handicrafts, Christmas ornaments, Finnish pancakes, mulled wine, tikkupulla (traditional bun on a stick, baked over an open fire). There are more than 50 vendors at stalls, tents, and old granaries.
"Lights on the edge of town – traditional Christmas market" is part of the New Oulu Celebration Year light-themed VALO events. The theme is community and working together. Young people, in particular, are invited to join in. The entire museum grounds are lighted with kerosene lamps and Christmas lights. The scouts have an open fireplace where visitors can grill sausages or bake buns on a stick.
School groups led by teachers make lanterns with animal motifs, providing light for both the Oulunsalo Christmas market and the New Oulu Celebration Year main event 24.11.
The event is free of charge for the public.
Vending stalls can be booked for a small fee from Kotiseutuseura Oulunsalo ry, firstname.lastname@example.org or 040-7686474.
Arranged by Kotiseutuseura Oulunsalo ry, in cooperation with Lennokkaat Martat, Kylänpuolen kotitalousnaiset, Oumuska, Ultramarin, scout group Norret, Finnish Red Cross, Asukastupa, Oulunsalon Nuorisoseura, Kapteenin yrittäjäyhdistys, Eläkeliitto Oulunsalo section, Lions Club, and Oulunsalo parish.
Oulunsalo Museum is a farmstead with buildings that are over 200 years old. In addition to the main building, the grounds contain a stable, three granaries, a drying barn and a woodshed. The museum speaks of life in Oulunsalo in the early 20th century. The beautiful wooden Oulunsalo church next to the museum grounds dates back to 1891.