City Board

The City Board consists of 13 members elected by the City Council for a four-year term. The Chairman of the Board is Mrs. Mirja Vehkaperä (Centre Party).

The City Board is responsible for municipal administration and economy, preparation of the matters to be decided by the City Council and making sure that the decisions made by the council are implemented and in accordance with the law.

The City Board represents the municipality: it uses its right to speak and performs various judicial actions on its behalf. The tasks of the City Board are defined in the by-laws. The Mayor and the deputy mayors prepare and present the matters to be decided by the City Board. The City Board's 13 members all have a personal deputy. The mayors of the City Council can attend and address the meetings.

The agendas of the meetings and the minutes of the decisions of the City Board are displayed in all libraries and on the Internet (in Finnish).

The public cannot attend these meetings, but the decisions of the board are in the public domain. The media is also informed of the decisions. Enquiries about decisions can be made by phoning 044 703 0621.

City Board

Postal address
City of Oulu,
P.O. Box 1,
90015 City of Oulu